Conyers, Lofgren, Levin, Kildee, Dingell & Lawrence: Trump's New Proclamation Is His Most Dangerous Muslim Ban Yet

September 25, 2017
Press Release
Washington, D.C. – House Judiciary Committee Ranking Member John Conyers, Jr. (MI-13), Subcommittee on Immigration Ranking Member Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), and Representatives Sander Levin (MI-09), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Debbie Dingell (MI-12) and Brenda Lawrence (MI-14) issued the following joint statement after President Donald Trump announced new travel restrictions:

"Donald Trump's proclamation is the latest version of his earlier discriminatory measures—a Muslim ban 3.0. President Trump's ban is the same discriminatory policy that will make America less safe. The White House is not fooling anyone by adding North Korea and Venezuela. Travel to the United States from North Korea is already restricted, and the bar on Venezuela reaches only select government officials and their families. This blanket ban is wide-reaching and still includes six Muslim-majority countries. Because this version of the ban extends indefinitely, it's the most dangerous one yet."