Lofgren Announces CA-19 Winner of 2019 Congressional App Challenge

December 19, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Representative Zoe Lofgren (CA-19) announced that Avi Goel, a junior at Silver Creek High School, won the 2019 Congressional App Challenge for California’s 19th Congressional District.

Goel used JavaScript and TypeScript to create the iOS and Android app, titled “Infinity News,” which aims to aggregate credible news that is independently-vetted as trustworthy for users in an easy-to-navigate format.

“I congratulate Avi on his achievement in creating a technologically-savvy way to ensure the public focuses on facts. With his app, Avi showcased the best technical skills, and I commend him for not just exhibiting creativity, but putting that skillset to use on a topic that matters to our country, our republic, and to every country across the world,” said Rep. Lofgren. “I also thank every Santa Clara County student who submitted an app – all of the submissions were unique and impressive. I look forward to seeing our hometown STEM students of today leading the successful Silicon Valley companies of the future.”

“Many Americans and people around the world are increasingly gleaning their information from news sources with major factual inaccuracy or extreme political bias,” said Avi Goel. “As a member of America's democracy and as a future voter, I wanted to create a platform that would allow me to find a good baseline of credible information on the issues of today, not just within our borders but around the world.”

Click here to view Goel’s submission.

The annual Congressional App Challenge is a nation-wide effort to spur interest in coding, STEM and computer-science education among middle- and high-school students.

Each district-winning app is eligible to be displayed in the U.S. Capitol Building and featured on house.gov. Winning students are invited to a #HouseofCode #Congress4cs reception in Washington, DC and receive $250 in Amazon Web Services credits. The Congressional App Challenge will publish all national winners online.