Lofgren Named 2021 ‘Champion of Science’

February 19, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren was named a 2021 Champion of Science by The Science Coalition (TSC), a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of more than 50 of the nation’s leading public and private research institutions. Rep. Lofgren joins this distinguished group of policymakers for her unwavering dedication to federal investment in scientific research during her more than 20 years in office.

“It’s always been clear to me that advancing basic and applied research is key to maintaining U.S. competitiveness in a 21st Century economy. Plus, amidst the current COVID-19 pandemic, we have all been reminded of the importance of scientific research in the development of vaccines and treatments,” said Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-19). “It’s an honor to be named a 2021 Champion of Science, and I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues to promote robust investments in federally-funded research that spurs innovation and to support our STEM workforce.”

As the Chair of the Committee on House Administration and a senior member of the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, Rep. Lofgren has supported legislation to advance science and ensure a strong research workforce now and in the future, including the Scientific Integrity Act and Research Investment to Spark the Economy (RISE) Act. Rep. Lofgren was nominated for this award by UC Santa Cruz and the University of California system.

“Rep. Lofgren is a true Champion of Science,” said John Latini, President of The Science Coalition. “As our nation’s researchers work tirelessly to combat the COVID-19 pandemic and protect their communities, Rep. Lofgren’s dedication to securing robust, predictable federal investment in fundamental science research meant the US was better equipped to tackle the crisis. Her advocacy is supporting economic recovery, growing the STEM talent pipeline, and keeping the country at the forefront of discovery.”

The Champion of Science Award from TSC recognizes Members of Congress for their efforts to secure federal funding for fundamental scientific research – through their voting records, bill sponsorships, letters of support, or other activities aimed at boosting scientific discovery. Awardees were selected both for their support of research institutions and their efforts to ensure fundamental scientific advancement across all disciplines.