Rep. Lofgren Applauds House Passage of Dream Act to Protect Dreamers, Offer Opportunity to Obtain Lawful Permanent Residence

June 4, 2019
Press Release
House of Representatives Passes Dream Act that Would Protect Undocumented Immigrants from Deportation if Brought Here as Children Under Age 18

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif) and the House of Representatives voted to pass the Dream Act of 2019, legislation that protects "Dreamers"—undocumented immigrants brought to the United States as children—from deportation. The bill would offer Dreamers who are eligible an opportunity to obtain lawful permanent residence if they meet certain requirements. As Chair of the Subcommittee on Immigration and Citizenship, Rep. Lofgren was instrumental in ensuring the votes necessary to pass the Dream Act in the House.

“Today, we’ve taken an historic step toward enacting a bill that would finally prevent the deportation of Dreamers, who came to this country as children, and who are American in every way except on paper,” Rep. Lofgren said. “This legislation should not be controversial. Dreamers are an integral part of our communities and have contributed to our economy for years, if not decades. The Dream Act would provide a fair and reasonable opportunity for them to apply for lawful permanent residence with tough eligibility standards. I call on my colleagues in the Senate to do the right thing by finally giving Dreamers the peace of mind they deserve as lawful permanent residents of the United States.”

Having passed the full House of Representatives, the Dream Act now moves to the Senate where Majority Leader Mitch McConnel will decide if the bill will be scheduled for a vote.

Rep. Lofgren has served as the top Democrat on the House Judiciary's Subcommittee on Immigration and Citizenship since 2007; and has long fought to ensure that the United States remains a beacon of freedom and hope for all people across the world. She is the granddaughter of immigrants and has taught immigration law at the Santa Clara School of Law.


Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren is serving her thirteenth term in Congress representing most of the City of San Jose and Santa Clara County. Congresswoman Lofgren is the Chair of the Committee on House Administration, is the elected Chair of the 46-member California Democratic Congressional Delegation and serves as the Chair of the House Judiciary Immigration and Citizenship Subcommittee.