Rep. Lofgren Issues Statement on House Passage of Energy Bill

September 16, 2008
Press Release

Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-San Jose) today hailed the House’s passage of H.R. 6899, Comprehensive American Energy Security and Consumer Protection Act.

The Comprehensive American Energy Security & Consumer Protection Act is a balanced compromise package that will help lessen our dependence on foreign oil and increase our national security. This legislation also focuses heavily on developing and expanding clean renewable energy sources and technologies that will create thousands of new green collar American jobs. It expands and extends tax incentives for renewable energy projects, including solar and wind, which will help the Silicon Valley companies that are at the forefront of such research continue their efforts. Additionally, it will require oil companies to drill on the 68 million acres of federal land that they have already leased, but are not employing, before they receive new leases. It would prevent offshore drilling within 50 miles of the coast, but would allow states to determine drilling for themselves. Without this measure, drilling would be permitted as close as 3 miles from shore over the objection of states.

Our current energy situation needs to be dealt with, but it must be handled in a responsible and comprehensive fashion. We cannot make the same mistakes as we did in the past, letting another opportunity to reduce our dependence on oil slip by as we did in the 1970s. This legislation strikes the proper balance and will lead us to a more prosperous and safer future.

Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren is serving her seventh term in Congress representing most of the City of San Jose and Santa Clara County. She serves as Chair of the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship, Refugees, Border Security, and International Law. She also Chairs the House Administration Subcommittee on Elections and serves on the House Homeland Security Committee. Congresswoman Lofgren is Chair of the California Democratic Congressional Delegation consisting of 34 Democratic members of the U.S. House of Representatives from California.